Manic Readers

Deborah Macgillivray

Deborah spent twenty years helping her grandfather, a retired British Historian, sort, restore and rewrite the history of their family in Scotland and England. That’s where she came across the basis for her historical novel, A RESTLESS KNIGHT, set in the year before the rising of William Wallace. She was working on pages for the history of her family in the late 1200s, and thought it the perfect basis for a marvelous Historical Romance.

Currently she is residing in Kentucky, but still spends part of the year in Britain. She was resident historian at WAXING POETIC (1999-2001). She also had a joint company with artist Carmon Deyo called CLAN RAVEN LTD. She wrote tales of Pict-Celt lore or tales from her family; Carmon turns them into the most beautiful jewelry in silver and gold. Their joint effort ‘THE THREE FACES OF THE GODDESS’, a highly original look at the Pict-Celt Goddesses, won awards and impressed Barnes and Noble enough to sponsor a month-long show in Texas of the works in September 2000, launched with a cocktail party. They hope someday to compile the works into a book (when life stops intruding!).

She is on staff at Paranormal Romance Reviews, and reviewed for The Best Reviews, Sensual Romance Reviews and, a Celtic e-magazine. She was member of RIO Reviewers International Organization, and served as their Award of Excellence Chair (2003-2005), and was assistant editor of their monthly newsletter. She served as 2nd Vice President of Hearts Through History (2004-2005), an online RWA Chapter; was also Web Chair (2003-2005) and was editor of their monthly newsletter The Bard Scroll (2003-5). A member of RWA and History Fiction Writers of Britain.

Her Debut novel - A RESTLESS KNIGHT (Kensington, July 2006) was the first of the Dragons of Challon series. followed by RavenHawke and One Snowy Knight . Coming 2014 - Redemption - Book four in the series.

THE INVASION OF FALGANNON ISLE (December 2005) was the first book for Dorchester's LoveSpell, in the Sisters of Colford Hall series. RIDING THE THUNDER (October 2006) is second, a Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence Winner 2007. A WOLF in WOLF'S CLOTHING is coming June 2009,  SOME THINGS EVER CHANGE will be the fourth i the series.

She has numerous short stories and novellas, and picked up a Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence 2008; The Beacon Award of Excellence 2008; 2 Reviewer's Choice Awards 2006 and 2007; a P.E.A.R.L Award 2007; 2 RIO Award of Excellence wins; a Lorie Award; The Laurie Award; NOR Award of Excellence and 2 LASR Awards.  

She loves the history of Scotland and England, ballet, web design, writing, reading books, watching movies, cats, dancing till dawn, B-Horror films, and collecting swords. In her spare time she designs book covers and creates her own video trailers.

Publishers:  Prairie Rose Publications, Montlake/ Amazon Publishing, Kensington Historical Romances, Dorchester LoveSpell, and more...

Deborah's MR Links
Videos by Deborah Macgillivray

Current Releases
When needs and desires come crashing together on a Beltaine Night, Highland magic weaves a spell of love and destiny. . . Lovers in a Dream . . . . . . Damian St. Giles has awoken with a sore head from too much drink before; only imbibing in Pi...
Available Now!
RavenHawke (Dragons of Challon, Book 2)
Lady Defiant Blessed with the Kenning, Lady Tamlyn MacShane foresaw this day...when the English warrior dressed all in black would come to claim her lands—and her.  She is determined to defy the ruthless, arrogant Julian Challon, but fe...
Available Now!
A Restless Knight (Book1 of Dragons of Challon)
One Last Hope... Lady Skena MacIain has seen much hardship this year, and she fears worse is to come. For a bloody battle in Dunbar has left her a young widow, and her Scottish fortress without protectors. She wishes she could be as hopeful as her...
Available Now!
One Snowy Knight
Revenge — that was Trev’s goal when he first set his sights on Raven. And a delicious revenge it would be. He and his two brothers had each selected a Montgomerie sister to systematically seduce and destroy, and this quiet granddaughter o...
Available Now!
A Wolf in Wolf's Clothing
Nine tales of the power of love under the watchful eye of some very special pussycats, who always know best. There is Auggie Moggie, Jack, Basil, Cyril, Sinnjinn, Elvis, Edward, Bubba--and we mustn't forget Simon. Simon is a very special ...
Available Now!
Cat O' Nine Tales
DREAM LOVER Damian St. Giles has woken up before with a sore head from imbibing too much mead, but finding himself naked and shackled to a bed is an entirely new experience. As if in a dream, a flame—haired enchantress appears and offers him a...
Available Now!
In Her Bed
213 SINGLE SCOTSMEN There was something about the Brigadoon-like Falgannon, something that kept most of its male inhabitants unwed. From Michael the Story to Callum the Bicycle—and we mustn’t forget The Cat Dudley, the slyest poker-play...
Available Now!
The Invasion of Falgannon Isle
While his brother was in Scotland dethroning the Lady of Falgannon, Jago Mershan heads to Kentucky to do his share in avenging his father on the Montgomerie family. Unfortunately, just looking at his alleged enemy’s granddaughter makes Jago thi...
Available Now!
Riding the Thunder
~ A Defiant Lady ~ In Scotland's darkest hour, an English warrior dressed all in black has come for her. Blessed with the kenning, Lady Tamlyn MacShane foresaw this day, when the ruthless Lord Julian Challon would conquer her land -- and her heart....
Available Now!
A Restless Knight

Visit Deborah Macgillivray's website:

Deborah Macgillivray's Links:  Authors Central on Amazon   Linkedin  Twitter  Facebook  Blog  Tumblr


Contact Us   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy / Refund Policy   |   Sitemap

© 2007- 2019, Manic Readers, LLC