Manic Readers
Authors
Close
Publishers
Books
Reviews

Robert Weibezahl

Robert Weibezahl is the author of two crime novels featuring screenwriter-sleuth Billy Winnetka—The Wicked and the Dead and The Dead Don’t Forget—and a number of short stories, including the Derringer Award finalist “Identity Theft,” which appears in the anthology Deadly by the Dozen. His two literary cookbooks/anthologies—A Taste of Murder and A Second Helping of Murder, co-edited with Jo Grossman, were both finalists for the Agatha and Macavity Awards. A columnist for BookPage since 2002, his work has also appeared in the Los Angeles Daily News, Los Angeles Reader, Ventura County Star, Mystery Readers Journal, Bikini, Irish America, and many other national and regional publications.

A Note From Robert Weibezahl

Advance praise for the new Billy Winnetka crime novel, The Dead Don’t Forget:

“Robert Weibezahl’s screenwriter Billy Winnetka has his hands full sorting through suspects galore in this zesty mystery played out against the background of a typical Hollywood motion picture production and the people who make the movies, while at the same time Billy works to resolve the unexpected romantic entanglement brought on by a new woman in his life.” —Robert S. Levinson, bestselling author of A Rhumba in Waltz Time, The Elvis and Marilyn Affair and The James Dean Affair

“The Dead Don’t Forgetis a highly enjoyable, good old-fashioned murder mystery, leavened with generous doses of romance and humor, and set against the picturesque backdrop of the not-quite-golden age of Hollywood.”—Gillian Bagwell, author of The Darling Strumpet and The September Queen

“Hollywood's dark past and a crime make for a dangerous cocktail in The Dead Don’t Forget.”—Simon Wood, author of Hot Seat

“I raced through Robert Weibezahl's sly and knowing Hollywood murder mystery, smiling all the way.”—Mitchell James Kaplan, author of By Fire, By Water

 

Praise for the first Billy Winnetka crime novel, The Wicked and the Dead:

“Robert Weibezahl has taken us to the heart of Hollywood in his new book, The Wicked and the Dead. And a cold black heart it is!...This book is just plain fun. Billy Winnetka is a character you hope to meet again....This book is for anyone who just wants to spend a few hours lost in the fake glitter of Tinseltown, absorbed in a well-constructed murder mystery. A throwback to the style of the 50s, it is a pleasant addition to the modern crime-over-easy novels.” – Front Street Reviews

“With Los Angeles as the movie world setting, the scenes are reminiscent of a classic film noir that would appeal to fans of Robert Parker and Sidney Sheldon.” – armchairinterviews.com

“Fans of character-driven mysteries are going to love The Wicked and the Dead and its leading man, Billy Winnetka.” – Maddy Van Hertbruggen, reviewingtheevidence.com

“Winnetka is an engaging sort, a competent screenwriter wryly disillusioned by the lack of respect accorded to his profession. We look forward to reading his further adventures.” – Bruce Tierney, BookPage, www.bookpage.com

“A tightly-written mystery with captivating characters and an extremely likable main character that pulls you along for the ride of a lifetime. I have to say I really loved this book. Don't miss this one folks. It's a real page turner with one bang of a finish. Highly, highly recommended.” –   Midwest Book Review

 
Current Releases
Screenwriter Billy Winnetka likes to write about crime, not solve it. But when an old producer friend dies under suspicious circumstances, Billy's doubts about the cause of death are too troubling to ignore. True, Harold Clausen was embroiled in ...
Available Now!
The Wicked and the Dead
Amateur detective Billy Winnetka is back, once more reluctantly investigating a peculiarly Hollywood crime involving some anonymous death threats. Who would want to scare an old woman who hasn’t made a movie in years? As Billy discovers, t...
Available Now!
The Dead Don't Forget


Visit Robert Weibezahl's website: www.RobertWeibezahl.com




Contact Us   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy / Refund Policy   |   Sitemap

© 2007- 2017, Manic Readers, LLC