Manic Readers

Shakir Rashaan

Artistic talent is a gift from God and whoever discovers it in himself has a certain obligation: 
to know that he cannot waste this talent, but must develop it." ~ Pope John Paul II

(This feels like an ever-evolving bio, but that's a good thing, right? LOL)​

Along with the philosophy I aspire to in the quote above, I also keep to my mantra: 
corrupting minds, one book at a time! I started my journey as an author back in 2009 
when I wrote The Awakening, the first book in my Nubian Underworld series. The series 
revolves around a world and a subject that not very many are privy to or really know 
about: the Fetish/BDSM/S&M world. I was determined to prove that "black folks are 
into kinky stuff, too," even before the current craze spawned from Fifty Shades of 
Grey. I spun a tale of sexual liberation, revolving the series around a Dominant 
Couple, Ramesses and Neferterri, and their submissives, incorporating lessons for the 
novice that might be curious but not yet ready to indulge in that world, while 
entertaining and titillating the experienced kinksters whom are used to delving into 
the world of WIITWD (what it is that we do) and enjoying the decadence within.

​My sophomore effort came in 2010 with Deviant Intent: OBSESSION. In this series, I combined my two loves: erotica and 
mystery/crime fiction. I relied on my background and studies in the criminal justice field, spinning off this series 
from my Nubian Underworld series. I introduced readers of The Awakening to Dominic Law, who was an Atlanta Police 
Detective who turned P.I. in the Deviant Intent series at the request of his childhood friend, Ramesses. The idea of 
this series was to have the firm handle the cases that the police deemed low priority, with the exception being the SVU.

​Both series have caught the attention of Zane and Strebor/Atria Books a few years later, and I signed book deals for
them in 2013. My Nubian Underworld series will begin again with the release of The Awakening in December 2013, followed 
by Legacy in June 2014, and Tempest in December 2014, with more books forthcoming and in the planning stages. The Deviant 
Intent series will begin again, repackaged as Kink, P.I. (presumably in 2015) with OBSESSION, followed by DECEPTION and 
RECKONING, with more books forthcoming in that series also.​

​I have lent my short story talents to a variety of projects, beginning with the anthology, Making the Hookup: Edgy Sex 
with Soul, edited by the amazing Cole Riley. Other credits include Erotic Snapshots, Vol. 5 and Vol. 6 and Lies Told in 
the Bedroom, edited by Essence Magazine best-seller Anna J, and Zane Presents Z-Rated: Chocolate Flava 3. I have a few 
more anthology projects slated for release in 2014 and beyond, and I'm always on the lookout for quality projects to be 
a part of.Back in 2011, I sort of pulled a split-personality shift, giving birth to my alter-ego, Curtis Alexander 
Hamilton. (In July 2014, after a long conversation, Curtis has changed his name to P.K. Rashaan) With him, a couple of 
projects have been born, an erotic romance entitled Crazy.Sexy.Unthinkable.Love., and a paranormal romance entitled,The
Devil's All-American. Both projects are being pitched to major publishing houses. With any luck, P.K. may have a few 
more projects in the lab to entertain the reading public.

​Before it's all said and done, I'm hopeful that anyone that reads any of my novels can find a character that they can 
identify with and love or love to hate. As the novels continue to come out, the maturity will be noticeable, and the 
depth of the characters will keep fans coming back for more.

Visit Shakir Rashaan's website:

Shakir Rashaan's Links: 




Contact Us   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy / Refund Policy   |   Sitemap

© 2007- 2019, Manic Readers, LLC