Manic Readers
Authors
Close
Publishers
Books
Reviews

Reviews

Publishers

The Medusa Tree
by Mylène Dressler
Release Date: 05/21/13
Genre: Literary
Pages: 89
Publisher: Untreed Reads Publishing
Format ISBN Price
E-Book 9781611875645 3.99
Author Page: Mylène Dressler
Buy Now From


Summary Excerpt Comments
When she reaches the orderly house of her Dutch-Indonesian grandmothers, Marget learns quickly that if she only pays attention to them, then she can go unnoticed herself.
 
And that is exactly what she needs just now.
 
Marget is pregnant and alone. With her dancing career over and her mother absent, as always, Marget must decide for herself whether it is wise to continue the raveling line of her extended family.
 
Mylène Dressler’s powerful debut novel, The Medusa Tree, is the story of a family of displaced women, not all related by blood, who manage despite distance and conflict to provide one another sanctuary.
 
In the tradition of Amy Tan and Gloria Naylor, Dressler brings us a bold and heartfelt debut, rich in culture and character.
 
The Medusa Tree is one of the best books I’ve read this year. Dressler’s characters are unforgettable and her style fuses grace with power. I look forward to reading more of her.” –Cynthia Shearer, author of The Wonder Book of the Air
Great Reads
To Tempt the Wolf
To Tempt the Wolf
Terry Spear
Wildlife photographer, Tessa Anderson has to prove her brother is innocent of the murder charges against him. But when she discovers a half-dead, naked man on her beach who looks like a mythical Greek god, shes got a whole world of new troubles to de...
Available Now!
Turbulent Passions
Turbulent Passions
Anne Rainey
  Love, is it providence or just a lump on the head?   Sapphire and Aries Demas are twins with a secret. Since the awful day their parents were killed, they’ve been in hiding, fearful the same fate will befall them. But...
Available Now!
Starbound
Starbound
Kassie Burns
Four lovers ... one mission ... aliens beware. Held captive aboard the Starbound in the depths of interstellar space, the survivors on board the colony ship are ruled by the despotic star gods, alien beings who use their human bodies...
Available Now!
The Indecent Condition
The Indecent Condition
Ana Star
Lucie is determined to get her promotion. After she found the right piece of art to help her elevate herself in the world of museums, she is stopped by the owner, Gregory Vines. The only way she can obtain her precious artifact, is if she accepts the...
Available Now!
Myth to Life: The Rise of Riley McCabe - Blood Betrayal
Myth to Life: The Rise of Riley McCabe - Blood Betrayal
P. A. Matthews
Riley McCabe vanished without a trace . . . or so Braedon Carlisle, master vampire, is led to believe. In a pact to save Braedon and his bloodline, Riley agrees to enslavement by the Host’s maniacal leader Doran for one year. With the caveats s...
Available Now!
Never Surrender
Never Surrender
Deanna Jewel
Is it possible for souls to travel through time and reunite more than one hundred years later? Does the soul continually search until somehow, it finds the one true soul mate even through time? Anything is possible when one believes in soul reincarna...
Available Now!
Dark Desires at Midnight
Dark Desires at Midnight
Jessica Lee
Arran MacLain is a vampire on a suicide mission, driven to kill his former partner who betrayed him and the Enclave they served. But two things stand in his way: Gabrielle, the human female who holds his heart, and the past that won’t let him g...
Available Now!
Wild Hearts
Wild Hearts
Rhea Regale
When Shyla Smith learns of her grandfather’s death, she travels to Hood River to put his estate in order. Shyla’s not thrilled with staying at his humble cabin in the middle of a forest, and when a welcoming committee of four wild wolves ...
Available Now!
Behind the Mask
Behind the Mask
Jacqueline Paige
Gracelyn is barely out of her teens when her only sister, in a fit of temper, curses her so she’s forgotten the moment anyone turns away from her. Only one thing at an exact moment can break the curse – but after years of failed attemp...
Available Now!
Haunting Beauty (Mists of Ireland, Book 1)
Haunting Beauty (Mists of Ireland, Book 1)
Erin Quinn
Danni Jones doesn't believe in destiny until she meets the seductive Sean Ballagh, who lures her back to Ireland, to a moment in her own past when her life was destroyed, giving her the chance to change everything. Now, Danni must fight the fo...
Available Now!



Contact Us   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy / Refund Policy   |   Sitemap

© 2007- 2020, Manic Readers, LLC